Back to All Events

Doha Diamond League

  • Suhaim bin Hamad Stadium Qatar Sports Club Doha Qatar (map)



Unfortunately, Courtney suffered from food poisoning the day before the race. Here is Courtney's take on the meet: 

What is the Diamond League?

The IAAF Diamond League encompasses 32 Diamond disciplines, following a championship style model. Athletes earn points at qualification meets to qualify for the final of their event.

Each of the disciplines is staged six or four times before the Final. At each of the 12 qualification meetings, Athletes are awarded 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2 or 1 points for ranking 1st to 8th respectively. The top 8 or 12 Athletes (depending on the discipline) will be awarded a start at the Final. In case of a tie, the best legal performance of the qualification phase wins.

The winner at the Final of each Diamond Discipline will become "IAAF Diamond League Champion".



Earlier Event: February 4
USATF Cross Country Championships
Later Event: May 26
Prefontaine Classic